Local News

Alban Sumani Bagbin Elects As Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic

Ghananewsprime gif
WhatsApp gif

Alban Sumani Bagbin Elects As Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic

Former MP for Nadowli Kaleo, Alban Sumani Bagbin of the NDC has been elected Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic.

He won a chaotic, closely contested secret ballot in the Chamber of Parliament on Thursday against former Speaker, Prof Aaron Mike Oquaye.

One of the oldest serving MPs polled 138 votes against his predecessors 136 with one legislator failing to vote.

RELATED   Takoradi Pastor impregnates church member's wife, lands in big trouble

The long dragging process lasted over nine hours which delayed the swearing-in of MPs-elect.

For many, what was expected to be a smooth inauguration of MPs-elect e 8th Parliament of the

Mr Bagbin has served as an MP since 1992 and was second deputy speaker of the 7th parliament which was dissolved at midnight on January 6, 2021.

He didn’t contest in the parliamentary elections in 2020 and his name came up for election as MP when the NDC and NPP won an equal number seats in the polls.

RELATED   GNP: Pokuase, Kanda And Other Places To Go Off Power From Now - ECG

Alban Begin, a former Health Minister in the Mills administration in 2008, became Majority Leader in Parliament in 2009.

READ ALSO: Chaos in Parliament as NDC Caucus rejects Clerk’s decision to bar injuncted Assin North MP

Following a cabinet reshuffle in January 2010, he was appointed Minister for Water Resources, Works and Housing by President Atta Mills.

In the Mahama administration, he was the Majority Leader of Parliament after he succeeded Dr Benjamin Kunbuor who was appointed as the Minister of Defense.

Ghananewsprime gif WhatsApp gif
Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button